The Agency Access Research Department works hard every day to deliver hundreds of updates for our members that go live every night. Due to the high number of changes with these updates we offer two easy ways to refresh your lists. You can choose the standard refresh or an advanced refresh. Both options ensure your lists are always accurate. Lists also refresh before sending an email, exporting a database file, and print mailing labels. Below, we will walk you through the steps needed to refresh a list.


List Refresh

When there are updates to a list, a green alert will be visible, showing updates are available. From your "Lists" page, expand the three-dot menu to the right of the list you want to update and click "Edit."

A "Refresh Your List" modal will open, letting you know updates are available. In this step, you will decide to perform a Standard Refresh or go through the necessary steps to complete the Advanced Refresh.

Standard Refresh

This refresh is a quick and easy way to move forward and is based on the original criteria you selected when building your list. A Standard Refresh will add contacts that now meet your criteria, remove contacts that no longer meet your criteria, and delete contacts that are no longer listed in our directory.

To move forward with a Standard Refresh, select the "Accept Changes" button.

From there, you will see the list editor results, including the new total amount of contacts in your list after the update. After the refresh has taken place, you can choose to make further edits to your list or close it and keep it as is.

When you leave the list editor and navigate back to the "Saved Lists" page, you will see the contact totals updated, and the green update alert should no longer be visible.

Advanced Refresh

This refresh identifies the contacts in the same way but gives you more visibility and control over the outcome. It will also show you a list of all the new contacts that now meet your criteria, making adding contacts to your list much easier. The Advanced Refresh walks you through a wizard and allows you to decide if you want to remove or keep contacts. The Updates Wizard is broken down into three steps.

To move forward with the Advanced Refresh, click the "Review Changes" button.

Step 1: Now Meets Criteria

This section will single out the newly added or updated companies and contacts that now meet your list's criteria. This is a great way to identify new contacts that have been added to the database or even contacts that have been in the database but are now matching the criteria you're interested in targeting. Once you've made your selections, click the "Next" button to continue.

Step 2: No Longer Meets Criteria

In this step, you will find companies and contacts that have been updated and no longer meet your list's criteria. This section is great for making sure you keep important contacts on your list.

For example, a creative you have been working with on other projects might have moved to a new company that isn't currently working on projects your list is built for. Just because they aren't working on projects you wouldn't normally produce content for today, doesn't mean you shouldn't continue to update them on what you are doing. You never know when they might pick up on projects that you are perfect for in the future.

This step allows you to keep important contacts regardless of the list criteria. Once you make these selections, you can click the "Next" button to continue.

Step 3: Deletions

In this step, you will see companies and contacts that have been removed from your list because they no longer exist in our database. There's not much you can do about deletions but many find it important to know who is no longer being listed and removed from their list.

Chances are these contacts will show up again in the database in the near future but knowing they are no longer where you thought they once were will put you ahead of the game the next time you get in touch with them.

Now that you have walked through all three steps, you can click the "Finish" button to apply your changes.

You will end up in the list editor after the refresh has taken place. You can choose to make further edits to your list or close it and keep the list the way it is.

Take notice of the Handpicked Segment. Here is where you will find the contacts you decided to keep on your list that no longer met your criteria in Step 2.

When you leave the list editor and land back on the "Saved Lists" page, you will see the contact totals updated and the green update alert should no longer be visible.

Did this answer your question?